TV-tuner +composite viewer

Dax

Distinguished
Jul 10, 2003
Hi there, I'm new to these tuner cards, and I would appreciate help from you.

Ok, I'd like to get a card with which I can watch unscrambled cable (through coax), and also, when I need to, plug in video game systems that use the red, yellow and white cables.

Finding a tv-tuner card is easy, but my question is, do they accept the red, yellow, and white cables as an input so I can view video games on screen too? (I'll use an adapter to convert white and red into headphone plug -> line in)

For example, I'm considering these two cards, will both of them allow me to view a composite input in addition to coax? How about viewing the video games through s-video?

<A HREF="http://www.kworld.com.tw/en/product/Studio-TV-Terminator/Studio-TV-Terminator.html" target="_new"> KWORLD 7131 </A>

<A HREF="http://www.kworld.com.tw/en/product/PVR-878/PVR-878.html" target="_new"> KWORLD 878 </A>

Also, can anyone tell me which of these cards are better? And, if you have any recommendations about other cards that I can get under $50, please let me know.

Thanks

Crashman

Polypheme
Former Staff
Most tuner cards have Composite video (an RCA plug) and coax, better ones have S-Video input. The 3 wires you speak of are Yellow: Composite Video, Red: Right channel audio, White: Left channel audio.

So tuner cards have the composite video, and some have the better S-Video connection, but what of the two audio jacks?

Tuner cards do NOT input audio. Rather, they output audio from the tuner to your sound card. Some will pass-through audio from an "input" on the card to the soundcard through cables (no processing), but that's just a gimmick because you would do the same thing by simply connecting your red and white cables to the sound card.