Sign in with
Your question

Intel vt-d for home vm use

Last response: in Business Computing
February 4, 2012 2:15:59 AM

I'm putting together a new system and one of the things I want to do on it is run a VM. When choosing CPUs I came across Intel's vpro technology. I'm a comp-sci student and last semester we looked at VMs, hardware virtualization, how VM device use is slowed because it has to go through the native OS and how hardware virtualization would help alleviate this. Naturally, vt-d looked like a good idea so I've been trying to build a system around vpro support that includes vt-d. This is easier said than done though! I've chosen the i5 2500 and so far (for lack of better alternatives that I've found) the Q67 chipset (haven't got to motherboards yet).

I think I'm getting ahead of myself though. Before I continue banging my head against the wall, trying to dig up all this vpro stuff and worrying about compatibility and which alternative is better, I would like to find out if it's even worth it, whether it will do what I want or not. I'm choosing this stuff to make my VM run closer to native performance. Does anyone have experience with vt-d? Is it worth all of this headache?

More about : intel home

a b å Intel
February 4, 2012 3:21:11 AM

Well since you are a comp sci I would assume you would at least like to try it out. It's not as difficult as you think, for hardware, you just need a capable mobo and cpu.

Here is my low priced suggestions: xeon E3-1230 and Intel DQ67SW. Although the 1230 doesn't have igpu so you may want to get the 1235. I suggest this over the i5 because it has HT.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...
February 5, 2012 3:20:15 AM

Thanks! I'll definitely look into those.