Sign in with
Your question

The Web Is Flat-Out Boring!

Last response: in Tom's Guide
March 5, 2007 11:29:17 AM

"Who Designed This Crap?" returns with a vengeance as Barry Gerber bites the hand that feeds him.

More about : web flat boring

March 5, 2007 12:30:41 PM

i completly agree it wasnt until i started learning some html that i realised how limited the framed system is going to have to learn to use macromedia products for my web page as i refuse to have a boring site that looks like all the others but with mild colour change and the occasional Graphic
But as the article mentioned its going to take longer tyo develop and in business terms that means more money. plus if you visit a webpage you instantly know how to use it anything too far from the norm will discourage users from your company therefore a play on the usual is the safe bet.
its up to the users to demand better features and force change upon the internet instead of relying on developers to do it.
March 5, 2007 1:12:07 PM

First of all, I had trouble reading this article. The link to it was broken for a while. Then the link to post about it was broken. I think that the Web has taken notice and is defending itself! :twisted:

Second, remember Sturgeon's Law. The great science fiction editor once remarked something like "90% of science fiction, of everything, is crud." Why shouldn't the Web be the same?
Related resources
March 5, 2007 1:22:13 PM

As much as I like THG, it certainly falls into the boring looking website category...

On the other hand, I can instantly see what I need to see, and don't have to click to different areas and watch fancy animations that I may not really care to see. On the other, other hand, I do think that THG could use a little more pizzazz, it is something of an eyesore to me at the moment.