Sign in with
Your question

Monitors with "adjustable" Overdrives...?

Tags:
  • Flat Panel Monitors
  • Gaming
  • Video
  • Monitors
  • Peripherals
  • Product
Last response: in Computer Peripherals
March 7, 2007 10:54:22 AM

Hi2all,

I'm new to the Flat Panel scene, but I've been busy doing my homework :) 

TFT Central
LCD Resource
BEHardware
and of course Tom's

Like most of you, there's no one panel that suits all of my needs (Gaming, video & digital imaging). As I have two (active) PCs, I can delegate my 2nd gen machine/ monitor to digital imaging, but that still leaves me looking for one monitor that can do gaming & video (movies). My main PC is hooked up to my 5.1 speaker system and thus is the only one that can be used for Gaming & Video playback.

The next thought was to buy two separate monitors (after all, graphics cards have been providing support for dual monitors for pretty much the entire millenium ;-)) but many applications cannot be relegated to the second monitor, making this solution somewhat unsatisfactory... .

So long story short, I was looking at 19" monitors sporting AUO's M190EG01 V0 panel (300dc/m2, 1300:1, 8ms, 178/178, 1280x1024 P-MVA). This panel is used in the *new* Viewsonic VP930, Belinea 1980 S1 and Philips 190P7, to name the ones I know about.

Due to my personal i/o and ergonomic requirements, I was leaning towards the 190P7 which is running around €330, a respectable price for a respectable monitor. But as I was browsing Philip's website, I came across their 190X7 which sports something Philips calls, SmartResponce. Appearantly, this SmartResponce "tunes" the responsiveness of the monitor depending on whether it is being used for static or dynamic viewing.