Sign in with
Your question

I'm a professional looking for quality graphics on a budget

Last response: in Computer Peripherals
March 17, 2007 1:16:11 AM

I'm a professional 3D animator, FX artist, and compositor, so I need a BIG screen (at least 21") that will hold up both for video playback and color representation. I'm also on a budget though, so some of the higher end screens are out of the question. I'm hoping for something in the $300-$400 price range.

So, my question is, should I even bother with the 22" LCDs in this price range. I like the size/aspect ratio of the 22" screens, but I've heard they are of lower quality than some of the smaller ones, mostly using 6-bit TN pannels which is unacceptable for working in Photoshop or color grading.

I don't mind a little ghosting, since I don't play games often. I'm most concerned with A. Color Quality, B. Price, and C. Size.

What would you advise? Will I find anything in my price range, or will I have to go down to a 19"?

One last consideration is that I'll be hooking it up to my laptop (Compal Hel80, T7200, 2GB ram, GeForce Go 7600) and it's only got VGA output.

Thanks for any help.
March 17, 2007 3:18:22 AM

With your requirements and budget, there are not an abundance of choices... but another 20", UXGA, to consider would be the Planar PL2010M... I don't know what type of panel it has.

If you have to go down to 19"...

The NEC 1970NX has S-IPS panel as does the HP LP1965.

The Samsung 971P has S-PVA panel and gets excellent reviews for color and black level.

Nearly all of the 22" and widescreens have TN panels and are out of the question for your needs.
Related resources
March 22, 2007 12:44:08 AM

Thanks Hose and KevinAr18, that's good info to know. I find it kind of odd that the screen type isn't well advertised by the manufacturers, so it's nice to have some advice on this.