Pro Printer Titans Clash in Vegas

After years of pro printer market dominance by Epson, Canon and HP have caught up. Pro and prosumer photographers are jumping up and down with glee. Click in to see why.
5 answers Last reply
More about printer titans clash vegas
  1. I would never say that reviewing printers is bad, but when it comes to cameras and other photographic types of devices you guys are ubsurdly late to the game.

I've been printing on my R2400 for months and on 9800 at school. The info that you will gather up has already been dealt with and looked at by other dedicated photographers.

Also, the huge segment of people who are making digital prints are art photographers - who made the switch from RA-4 prints to digital. Which you clearly left out of your article which baffles me at your understanding of the market for the printers.
  2. While I agree this is a little late to the game, consider out-sourcing the printing. As a pro/am photographer I am torn between the instant gratification of printing myself and the professional results I can get by going somewhere to have prints made for less than I can print them at home.

Costco uses the same equipment, you can download the ICC profiles & embed them into the output, upload and print. 4x6 prints are cheap, like $0.19 each or less. But a 16x20 is around $3 11x14 is a little over $2. Same equipment that a pro print shop uses and I custom manage my profiles. Cost per print comes way down while results meet or beat expectations.

While I would love to have an HP designjet 130 with roll cutter and network adapter, spending $1500 or more on the printer, plus $100 for a roll of paper, and $60 each for ink, I'll stick with outsourcing my printing. So few of those 'pro' printers support 16x20 capability it isn't worth it to me.