drive not found

stupid_tech_geek

Distinguished
Nov 17, 2002
I have a sata drive hooked up and would like to add one of my ide drives. I enabled the boot order setting in the bios but windows only see's the sata drive. The Ide is on the primary channel by its' self and the jumper is set to csel (WD hdd's are kinda fickle some times)as the master setting didn't work. Does anyone have an idea wht I could be missing? also, as I am new to sata, will I be able to transfer files from sata to ide and back?

A7n8x dlx 1004 Uber Agressive settings
2500Barton (Bastards locked it) Radeon 9200
WD 60g @7200w 8mg Cache Crucial 2700 2x 256
AMD ME??? Yeah they did me alright.

sjonnie

Distinguished
Oct 26, 2001
Does the BIOS recognize the drive during boot? If not, change your jumper setting or IDE cable, if yes, open drive management (diskmgmt.msc) and initialize/format the drive there.

<A HREF="http://www.anandtech.com/myanandtech.html?member=114979" target="_new">My PCs</A> :cool:

stupid_tech_geek

Distinguished
Nov 17, 2002
I've managed to get the bios to recognize the ide drive (WD 80 gig). I forgot to set the jumper to csel. I went into fdisk and deleted the partitions on that drive( it had a bad installation anyway) but after a long time I finally boot into that drive and start to install WinXp. After another ten minutes I get a page fault message (I'll post details later tonight when I get home).

A7n8x dlx 1004 Uber Agressive settings
2500Barton (Bastards locked it) Radeon 9200
WD 60g @7200w 8mg Cache Crucial 2700 2x 256
AMD ME??? Yeah they did me alright.

manthas

Distinguished
Dec 12, 2001