littleberry

Distinguished
Mar 12, 2001
Maybe a dumb question? I have had a rash of h/d failures lately that I *thought* was maybe a virus - but, now I wonder if the real culprit might be these removable trays that I run my h/d's from. Overheating? Has anyone else suffered loss of h/d's when using these removable trays?
They go into a housing that fits where you normally would put a CDROM drive, and there is a little fan on the side that doesn't seem to blow very much air. I've been doing this for about 4 years now, with my h/d sizes going from originally 6 gigs up to where now I am using 120g's and I think the heat is causing them to fail. What happens is they just suddenly won't copy data (to or from) and, on reboot, they are seen as "system unknown". Is there a better design for a remobable tray to accomodate these higher capacity h/d's? shaken up a bit,... littleberry

Crashman

Polypheme
Former Staff
Plastic drive trays are horrible, I've burned a couple drives that way. Lucky for me they were old worthless units.

<font color=blue>Only a place as big as the internet could be home to a hero as big as Crashman!</font color=blue>
<font color=red>Only a place as big as the internet could be home to an ego as large as Crashman's!</font color=red>

littleberry

Distinguished
Mar 12, 2001
Crashman, before I give up on the idea completely, I am going to try one from newegg that has a 50mm fan on the bottom blowing air directly up onto the h/d circuit board.
It is just under $30, and I am hoping that will keep these large capacity h/d's from overheating, because, I make frequent use of the removable aspect. What with USB2 being so common these days, though, the is much less need for having removable h/d's connected to the dma channels. I wish there were a lot of discussion on this subject because I am groping around in the dark here. Do you just keep yours locked down internally with no way to get at them without taking off the case cover? littleberry

Crashman