Need Recommendations for good enough professional 21/22 in

avim

Distinguished
Apr 19, 2007
Hi all,

RE: Need Recommendations for "good enough" professional 21/22 inch LCD screen

Since I now seem to be spending more time working at home I need recommendations for a large (at least 21 inch @ approx. 1600x1200) LCD screen of "good enough" quality to use at HOME. About a year ago, I bought a new EIZO 21" screen to use at my CLIENTS. It's beautiful, but it cost $1,200 (in local currency), so although I never stop singing its praises I am not inclined to buy one like that again. Since the time I bought that EIZO I have seen screen prices drop (but not of EIZO…) and the entry-level size get bigger. For instance, there is a ViewSonic 22" for about $500 (in local currency).

I am a technical writer, and for us writers, quality of text is of the utmost importance. i.e., sharp and well-defined -- and black text should be black, not grey, otherwise you will be straining to make out the letters and will get eye-strain. I think for that you need a contrast of at least 1000:1. That ViewSonic 22" I saw has 700:1. Really, I should try to go and see it.

Anyway, I need some recommendations based on personal experience. Also indicate whether 1600x1200 or "wide". Problems: a lot of wides coming out now, and their res is 1680x1050, and my Thinkkpad T30 laptop doesn't do that. Actually, even the T43 also doesn't do that. That's a real nuisance...

tia,

Avraham

------------------------------
Avraham Makeler
Freelance Technical Writer

Hose

Distinguished
Jan 9, 2005
1. There are few (if any) "professional 22" LCDs... they have TN panels and are geared toward gamer market.

2. The 1600x1200 (UXGA) monitors in your range come in 20" and 21"... same resolution, but the 21's cost 50-100% more for that extra inch.

All of the UXGAs should be quite good, except Samsung 204B... it's not bad, but it does have a TN panel.