How To Dual-boot 98, xp & Linux??

cool_xo

Distinguished
Jul 3, 2002
I've just bought a new comp and I want to install win98, xp and Linux onto the machine. I have already partitioned my harddisk.

I am new to dual-booting. So could anyone please explain the process of how to set these 3 OS up step-by-step?? Or even a webpage?

Any help would be greatly appreciated!~

jlanka

Splendid
Mar 16, 2001
easiest thing is to just install in this order:

1) 98
2) XP
3) Linux

And the boot managers will all do the right thing automatically.

<i>It's always the one thing you never suspected.</i>

xyz

Distinguished
Mar 5, 2002
You have three choices for creating a multiboot machine.

<b>-></b>First, you can create a separate partition for each operating system and run FDISK from a floppy to change the active partition when you want to change the operating system.

This method has the <font color=blue>advantage</font color=blue> that it works with any operating system. Its <font color=red>disadvantage</font color=red> is that FDISK is risky software to place in user's hands.

<b>-></b>The second option is to use a third-party tool---such as OS/2 Boot Manager, System Commander,or Boot Magic--to setup all partitions for the operating systems and a menuing system that enables you to choose operating system while booting.

The <font color=blue>advantage</font color=blue> here is that menu drives that user choice of the operating system, and such tools work with almost any operating system. The <font color=red>disadvantage</font color=red> is that more administrative work is required when the operating systems are installed.

<b>-></b> The third choice is for multibootig microsoft operating systems. For example, you want to dual boot between Win98 & WinXP. You need only to install Win98 first, and then WinXP. WinXP will automatically install dual boot capability, along a menuing system.

The <font color=blue>advantage</font color=blue> is ease of use and installation.