Sign in with
Your question

Loading operating system... Please help!

Tags:
  • Disk Read Error
  • Computers
  • Windows 7
  • Product
Last response: in Windows 7
September 13, 2012 9:42:12 PM

So basically I tried turning on my computer today and it wouldn't start up. It goes to a black screen that says "loading operating system... A disk read error occured press ctrl alt del to restart." I've tried running it in safe mode and that doesn't work either. I'm not very tech savvy so I'm not sure what other information to include, so ask away and I'll do my best to describe w/e to my best knowledge. Any help is much appreciated!!
Thanks

More about : loading operating system

September 13, 2012 9:50:17 PM

Update: now it says "loading operating system... Disk boot failure, insert system disk and press enter". Not sure why it changed
m
l
a b $ Windows 7
September 13, 2012 9:52:49 PM

Sounds like your hard drive is shot.

Can you give us more details as to what was happening or changed before this? Hardware changes, weird symptoms or issues etc.
m
l
September 13, 2012 9:54:54 PM

Sounds like your hard drive died. Do you hear any strange clicking sounds, or possibly something that sounds like your drive is spinning up and back down?

If you have a working computer, you can download hard drive diagnostic software from the manufacturer or something like the "ultimate boot cd" that will diagnose any potential hard drive issues.

Other possibilities include a loose cable if you have moved the computer recently, and a bad/failing power supply that isn't powering the drive properly. If you aren't tech savvy enough to diagnose it yourself, you might want to take it somewhere or have a tech savvy friend check it out for you.
m
l
September 13, 2012 9:56:49 PM