Sign in with
Your question

The Web of the Future is Here

Last response: in Tom's Guide
July 31, 2007 11:36:08 AM

http://www.geardigest.com/the_web_of_the_future_is_here/index.html

Like it or not the Web is moving from static text and links to interactive conversations, rich media and online narratives. Mark Sigal is in the middle of the revolution.

More about : web future

July 31, 2007 7:57:59 PM

I'm afraid to say, I'm not at all impressed with this article. I've been a computer professional for over 10 years and follow technology news and developments daily; I talk to vendors, customers, go to conferences, meet with businesses ranging from small start-ups to large corporations... I am not inexperienced or unaware of the jargon or tech-speak used in this world.

That said, I found this article to be an almost incomprehensible endless string of buzzwords, marketing-speak and catchphrases with very little meaning or content. It sounds more like a strung-together collection of corporate mission statements and jargon from press releases than a reasoned comment on the future of online community interaction.

I expect to hear "empower motivated community users to fashion informational sign posts" and "the community builder is the customer, NOT the consumer" from a low-quality marketing presentation, not from intelligent commentary on a major news site.

Perhaps I need an MBA; perhaps I need to have a degree in marketing; perhaps I just need to spend less time on technology and more time on evangelism... in any case, I should not have this much trouble understanding an article on Tom's Hardware. This subject is interesting, important and worthy of much discussion, but could we have fewer business buzzwords please?

Thanks.

August 1, 2007 12:15:50 AM