Sign in with
Your question
Closed

Hard Drive physically damaged... options?

Last response: in Storage
December 17, 2004 5:21:25 PM

I went to a few different places with my hard drive and they told me different things. Some said that the drive could be fixed, some said all hope was lost and that a data-recovery center is my only option. I've asked about it on different forums (off-topic, non-computer forums), but it looks like everyone here has a good idea of what they are talking about :) 

My computer stopped being able to read my second hard drive one day. It would still show up in "my computer" and I could click on it, but it couldn't read anything on it.

So I took it out and low-and-behold... I see what appear to be melted wires. I think that they connect my motor to my logic board, but I am far from a computer expert so I could be wrong. Here are three pics of the hard drive and damage in question;
http://www.instrife.com/board/attachment.php?s=&postid=...

I've been told about and looked into data recovery centers but they are very expensive and I would only look into spending that kind of money as an absolute last resort. There is one located near me though, so I will likely go to talk to them in person when I get a chance just to see what they have to say.

Anyway, what I want to know is if I could have the motor, the four wires, and the logic board replaced instead? By replacing the parts that are damaged I figure that the drive should work and no data would be lost. I would of course quicly back it all up.

Someone I know who has an identical hard drive (same model, purchased around the same time... hopefully it is truely identical) is sending it to me so that I can get the right parts... but i don't want to bring it somewhere, have them take it apart and then lose all of my data if this is an extremely risky method. I need to be totally sure that something like that could be done.