schmuckpussy

Distinguished
Oct 23, 2003
I've been reading the article on enclosures for hdd's at:
http://www.tomshardware.com/mobile/20041206/index.html

Im planning on buying a notebook (or hope santa will give me one) and i found out notebooks havent got a very large hd, often only 40-60gb. Therefore i thought i was gonna buy a external-usb hd of around 200gb, but then i read this article. But i dont get what the main advantage is of buying a 'normal' IDE interface hd and a enclosure over buying a regular external hd.

Can someone explain this to me?

pat

Expert
Cost and flexibility. You can buy an inexpensive USB2.0 enclosure with the HDD of the size you want while buying complete external, you'Ll get the same, but a bit more expensive and often, not the size you want.

I've been using enclosure for near 2 years now and like them. I used Bytecc enclosure that are in aluminum and dissipate the heat very well without the need of a fan. Just make sure that the unit has an on/off switch so you can switch it off while not in use. Unless you have a very silent HDD, the noise can become a bit annoying. The best HDD for this kind on enclosure are 5400 rpm one as they are less noisy than 7200 rpm and since the speed is limited to the USB interface, there is no impact on the performance. But they are hard to find for high cap. drive.

-Always put the blame on you first, then on the hardware !!!

Crashman

Polypheme
Former Staff
You don't understand? Are you a schmuck?

That's like saying "I don't understand why people build computers when they could just buy one".

<font color=blue>Only a place as big as the internet could be home to a hero as big as Crashman!</font color=blue>
<font color=red>Only a place as big as the internet could be home to an ego as large as Crashman's!</font color=red>

schmuckpussy

Distinguished
Oct 23, 2003