Laptop for Power User & College Student

Status
Not open for further replies.

nvolpe89

Distinguished
Jul 12, 2009
1_What is your budget?
~$2000 but I am a college student so preferably as low as possible

2_What is the size of the notebook that you are considering?
16-18"

3_What screen resolution do you want?
preferrably 1080p for watching HD

4_Do you need a portable or desktop replacement laptop?
desktop replacement but will be brought to college and home occasionally so it can't be a ridiculous size.

5_How much battery life do you need?
preferably a few hours but not a big issue

6_Do you want to play games with your laptop? If so then please list the games that you want to with the settings that you want for these games. (Low,Medium or High)?
Not a huge gamer but I currently play The Sims 3 and some of the GTAs. would like to be able to play some good games on this machine too.

7_What other tasks do you want to do with your laptop? (Photo / Video editing, surfing the web, playing music, watching movies, Etc.)
photoshop, video editing, web surfing, email, music, movies, consuming podcasts, watching live streaming media, and major web development

8_How much storage (H.D.D Capacity) do you need?
500GB+ with room for expansion. i like to have all my files with me.

9_If you are considering specific sites to buy from, please post the links to them.
I am looking at the HP Pavilion HDX 18t customized to order from HP.com
http://www.shopping.hp.com/webapp/shopping/computer_can_series.do?storeName=computer_store&category=notebooks&a1=Category&v1=Performance+and+entertainment&series_name=HDX18t_series

10_How long do you want to keep your laptop?
4 years +
I am upgrading from an HP Pavilion dv6000t - Intel C2D 2GHz T7200, 2GB RAM, 320GB HDD, 15" screen, Nvidia GeForce Go 7400

11_If you would like to mention some other things about purchasing your ideal laptop, post them.