SATA RAID vs. IDE…

kevinshi

Distinguished
Jan 13, 2005
SATA RAID vs. IDE…

I’m a newbie and yes I have read the FAQ (very helpful thanks for putting it together).

I’m considering buying the Abit IS7-G motherboard which the spec says has:
-> “2 x Ultra DMA 33/66/100 Connectors”
-> “4 x Serial ATA 150 RAID Connectors”

Please tell me whether my understanding of the following is correct:

The “Ultra DMA 33/66/100 Connectors” are:
1) A fancy way of saying they are IDE controllers
2) If I put a HDD that supports a transfer rate of 133 then I will not be getting the full benefit of the HDD

The “Serial ATA 150 RAID Connectors” are
3) the functional equivalent of having added a PCI raid controller card to my system
4) are a hardware RAID solution
5) would not be accessible to me during Windows XP setup unless I inserted a floppy with the proper drivers during initial boot of setup
6) If I put a HDD that supports a transfer rate of 133 then I will not be getting the full benefit of the controller

If all of that is correct then I have some follow up questions that I’ll ask in a new thread… thanks in advance for putting up with me…

Thanks,
kevin

Crashman

Polypheme
Former Staff
Wrong: The fastest BURST rate I've seen from drive cache is around 110MB/s. The fastest MEDIA TRANSFER rate I've read from an SATA drive is around 102MB/s. So you don't have any limits to worry about, and you don't have a hardware RAID controller either.

<font color=blue>Only a place as big as the internet could be home to a hero as big as Crashman!</font color=blue>
<font color=red>Only a place as big as the internet could be home to an ego as large as Crashman's!</font color=red>

kevinshi

Distinguished
Jan 13, 2005
OK, so I think you are saying that #2 & #6 are wrong in practice. Do I have the thoeretical proposition correct though?

"..you don't have a hardware RAID controller."