Status
Not open for further replies.

Jammokablammo

Distinguished
Jun 28, 2008
Ok, so i've decided it's time to start my first surround setup, but asides from the obvious, i don't really know what i'm doing, and there's only so much you can understand from the net before you hit a brick wall of big words and confusion. I'd like to eventually setup an amp with 7.1 surround, that i can switch between different inputs of both video and audio, but as i'm a student, i'm not going to be able to do this all in one go. I currently have an old sony amp and my trusty pair of mission m70 bookshelf speakers. Basically, i just need to know the basics of a surround setup so i can start to build it. For instance, from what i can gather from wikipedia, 7.1 basically just means 7 speakers (2 front, 2 side, 2 rear, 1 centre) and a sub woofer, but do you need to have a set of matching speakers, or can you make up these from 3 different pairs, plus a centre and a sub? Does it matter where the sub goes? Is there anything in particular i need to make sure the amp has?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

Only 7.1 setup i have used is the gigaworks one in my sig, however, i do know that in most setups people either buy pre built ones as it were or mix and match. Alot of audiophiles prefer the latter from what i have seen as they may like different brands for different things.

subwoofer placement is really a matter of choice, the best way is to get one that would fit in with the other speakers and just watch some favourite films and place it wehre you think best, not really a science to it.

all you need of an amp is that it has the required amount of inpouts and outputs and support the rigfht decoding features.

Jammokablammo

Distinguished
Jun 28, 2008