RAID Question

tameanaka

Distinguished
Jan 19, 2005
Hey, I;m going to buy an ASUS P5GD2 Deluxe pretty soon here and was just wondering if the serial raid is an actual hardware raid controller and does all the work without the cpu or is it totally software or is it a combination? If it's not a full on hardware controller, would it be worth it to invest in one? Is the difference between hardware and software negligible? Running ide is totally software isn't it, or is that combination? I'm a noob so be prepared for some other questions to follow up your responses, thanks.

Crashman

Polypheme
Former Staff
All the onboard RAID controllers I know of are software RAID. The RAID controller is a piece of hardware, but it's just a drive interface, the processing is done by the CPU. I don't know of any reasonably priced hardware RAID controllers either, even add-in cards that most of us can afford are software RAID.

<font color=blue>Only a place as big as the internet could be home to a hero as big as Crashman!</font color=blue>
<font color=red>Only a place as big as the internet could be home to an ego as large as Crashman's!</font color=red>

tameanaka

Distinguished
Jan 19, 2005
but is there really a noticable difference between the two? it can't be anymore cpu drain than normal ide would use right?(i'm assuming ide hd are controlled through software with cpu)

Crashman

Polypheme
Former Staff
The "hardware RAID" cards I've used have been SCSI and had both a SCSI controller chip and a RISK processor (usually the Intel i960 RISK processor). The processor does the work of splitting/combining files (not too difficult) and calculating parity for modes 3 and 5 (more difficult). At any rate, RAID0 will eat up CPU cycles using a software RAID, I'm not certain how many, but it wouldn't be nearly as bad as more advanced modes.

<font color=blue>Only a place as big as the internet could be home to a hero as big as Crashman!</font color=blue>