Digital Audio via Receiver

BladeMun99

Distinguished
Jan 29, 2005
Hello, this is my first post here, mostly just to address the issue of SPdif sound output and Dolby digital surround sound. First I will admit I am haven't had the chance to experiment with every soundcard and device out there so I will keep my statements based on what references I have.

My issue is this, that Dolby digital surround sound, 5.1 format does not get sent out to DD and DTS receivers via spdif. Let me explain.

Once upon a time as I was coming into my own as a computer tech I built myself a system for the first time useing the Nforce2 platform. This platform had the MCP-T APU that allowed both DTS Decodeing and ENCODEing. I hooked it up via coax to my digital Receiver and voila, 5.1 surround sound. I did the sensaura test and the music ball glided seamlessly all around me.

Since then, my audio life has been hell. After selling that system I have NOT been able to recreate that effect with ANY hardware setup. AC97? Please.. I'v tryed Turtle beach soundcards, I'v tryed an AUdigy 2 soundcard. Neither seem interested in sending a signal my receiver understands as being in dolby digital format.

After alot of research into audio I have learned a few things. 99% of the audio market uses PCM or AC3 audio signal to output to Receivers via spdif. PCM and AC3 both basicly mean "CD quality, 2 channel audio" Voila, problem answered. Not even creative labs has had the brains to design a soundcard that ENCODES the analog signal it produces into a digital format that Receivers can read as being multichannel. Receivers will tell you when they are getting such a signal as the word will light up, typically in red, "Dolby digital".

If your not seeing that message, your not getting the real thing.