Just built a computer and installed windows, having driver problems

alexjb

Honorable
Sep 21, 2012
Hi everyone, I have just built my first ever computer and installed Windows 7 on it, I have inserted the MSI disk that came with the MSI motherboard but it failed to load up, so I went in to device manager and noticed that there were some things with yellow icons next to them, so I installed all of them apart from the Ethernet Controller and the Bus controller as they failed, it said for the ethernet controller that a driver was found but failed to install and for the Bus controller no drivers were found from the CD in the DVD-RW Drive.

The problem I have is that without the ethernet controller installing I cannot access the internet to download drivers, please can someone help me out?

I'm starting to think that maybe I missed something out while putting the computer together as it is my first time ever, thank you for help! :)

Check the documentation of the Mobo, also check specifically what Ethernet chip is being used by them and then install the correct driver.
Remember, that drivers are usually in compressed format on the disc, that is, either zipped or rarred, you will need to un-compress it to get the drivers to be identified by the HW Manager.

alexjb

Honorable
Sep 21, 2012
thanks, I've looked in motherboard manual but I cannot see to find any help there, I really want to get this thing working spend 12 hours putting it together, when I click on properties for the ethernet controller it says device type: other devices Manufacturer: unknown location: PCI Bus 3, device 0, function 0

Description: The drivers for this device are not installed. (Code 28)

There is no driver selected for the device information set or element.

How would I unzip the folders from the mobo disk please? as I have no access to internet to download WinRar, please help me out I really want to get this computer working, thanks :)

popeyejohnson

Honorable
Jul 5, 2012