Should I get the New HP Envy 17?

reventon_703

Distinguished
May 14, 2010
Hello,
I am a student and an enthuasist computer user, and I am looking for the new HP Envy as replacement for my old HP Pavilion dv5130ca, which I brought back in 2006. However, I am not in a real rush to get one, so I can always wait for big things to come out before making the final decision.

As you might be aware of, HP Envy 17 and Envy 14 are going to release soon on May 19 and June 24 respectively in the U.S. Since Envy 17 fixes most of the Envy 15 problems such as overheating, lack of optical drive and short battery life, overall the Envy 17 seemed like an excellent candidate as my next replacement laptop, but it was then I came across with many struggles and I cannot decide rather I should get it or not. So I am just hoping if you guys can help me out and resolve some of my struggles rather to get the new Envy or not.

So here are my struggles:

1. First of all, my current laptop works fine, except for some frequent noise and overheating, but I would like to replace it, since I can't take its old graphic card and I just demand more power from it than I was before. I cannot play new games on it, which is a shame and the graphic card is also un-replaceable, so I am unable to upgrade it. However, like I said, I can wait for some times for the more advance technologies such as 3D to come out before replacing (In fact, does anyone know if the 3D technologies will be implemented as a standard for laptop this year? or would that happen some years later?) Anyway, it's always nice not having to wait for too long... ;)

Just a quick note, I had never seen any 3D-related stuff, except for one time in Best Buy, testing out the 3DTV for 10 secs, which I find not really realistic =D Does it actually feel That realistic though? Also a side-question =P does 3D cause drowsiness?