Buying a new computer

oob360

Distinguished
Nov 26, 2009
This is my first post, so im not too sure where to put this…

I have had my dell dimension 4500 for about 6 years, and I thought it was about time for me to get a new computer.

What I want to do is buy a new computer and for the computer to last a while (hopefully another 6 years!). I am a gamer. I am not too experienced in buying computers. This is the computer I'm looking at buying:

http://configure.us.dell.com/dellstore/print_summary_details_popup.aspx?~lt=print&c=us&cs=19&fb=1&l=en&oc=DPCWDX1&s=dhs&leadtime=12/9/2009&showleadtime=True

does this system look good?

some specific questions:

1. is an i7 worth it?

2. if i were to get an i7, which i7

3. do i need a sound card?

4. what is the average monitor resolution and screen size now days?

I've never used this site, but i saw that it had helped many other people with their computer questions.

Thanks for the help!

Solution
The big question is what do you want to do with the computer?
What games and applications?
What is your budget?
What does it include (pc, OS, monitor, mouse, etc)?
Do you plan to overclock?
Do you want to use multiple graphics cards?

According to this THG review, for gaming an i5 is adequate, although I would stick with the i7-860 as a minimum to get hyperthreading. Whether you need the i7-920 depends on what other uses you might have that require the faster computer. But it definitely is the faster processor - but you add about $250 -$300 to the cost for the more expensive processor, mobo, and additional memory.

http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/best-gaming-cpu,2466.html

Then this article about the i5 and...

rockyjohn

Distinguished
The big question is what do you want to do with the computer?
What games and applications?
What is your budget?
What does it include (pc, OS, monitor, mouse, etc)?
Do you plan to overclock?
Do you want to use multiple graphics cards?