Sign in with
Your question

Opinions on the Samsung 2693HM monitor?

Last response: in Computer Peripherals
August 4, 2008 4:14:34 PM

I'm looking to upgrade to a wide former larger monitor and the Samsung 2693HM 25.5" monitor caught my eye. Does anyone have an opinion on this monitor?

The price is fairly cheap and the specs that are presented seem to be pretty good. I read that it might have cheap parts though, and that has me a bit concerned. I am a graphic designer so color is important, but I'd also like to be able to use it for games. Yes I have the hardware that can support the high res.
a c 193 C Monitor
a b Ô Samsung
August 5, 2008 3:53:16 AM

It's cheap for a reason. It uses a TN panel monitor which is known for poor color accuracy especially for someone who demand very accurate colors.

TN panels uses 6-bit color (aka 18-bit color), that means it can only produce 256k real colors. Thru a process called dithering (blending for simplicity) it produces the remain 16.2m - 16.5m colors. Good enough for the average user, but if you are trying to create over 16m colors from just 256k you gotta know something is up.

Avoid what seems to be a good value monitor 'cause they will be using TN panel tech instead of the more expensive 8-bit color (aka 24-bit color) S-PVA, P-MVA or IPS panels which can actually produce 16.7m real colors.

A 24" monitor with a S-PVA panel starts at about $600 for entry level and can go as high as $1,200 for the NEC 2490WUXi monitor which uses a H-IPS panel and is designed for the graphics professional.

In the 26" (25.5") arena, nearly all of these monitors are TN panels. There could be some S-PVA or M-PVA panel monitors, but I never really researched for those. There are monitors that uses the S-IPS or H-IPS panels (generally regarded as the best for color accuracy), but the start at about $900 (Planar PX2611W) which is designed for the average user, or about $1,300 for the NEC 2690WUXi which is designed for the graphics professional.