New speakers for my PC

Status
Not open for further replies.

ponchato

Distinguished
Apr 19, 2009
The problem is... I have very little knowledge about audio systems, so I'll start off with a question.

What are the budget ranges for low end, mid range, and high end 5.1 (or 7.1, I'm not sure what's available for computers) systems? What are some examples of each?

ddawson24

Distinguished
May 27, 2007
I've always liked the idea of just using a Toslink from my sound card to my home theater. If you are just looking for some speakers to connect directly to the computer you can typically go to a place like Best Buy and find something that a company like Logitech makes that are decent and would be priced around $100. I don't see the point in spending more than that because if you start getting into higher price points it makes more sense to just put the money toward your home theater so you can use the system for more than just your pc.

eylee86

Distinguished
Jul 13, 2008
Hi, Here's my take on the computer desktop speakers.

Low end: ~$30-80
Mid: $100-$200
High: $300 and above'ish

This is my take on estimate of different price ranges. The thing is the price is not necessarily fixated to those low/mid/high-end speakers. But I would say avoid the cheap brand speakers. I use to own Logitech Z-2300, which i bought for about $110 2 years ago. For the price, its one of the bette computer speakers out there with strong bass if you're into hiphop and things and want to shake your room around a bit. However, sound quality wise, you could find something better if you pitch in more money. In fact, I just sold my speaker for $60 and now i'm looking to buy new speakers. I agree that going high end computer speaker is not worth for everyday users. My recommended range is about ~$120-200'ish. Here are some of my suggestions for the midrange speakers:

Logitech Z-2300 (if you want boomy bass)