Have 2 2001FP's, need 3rd, should it be widescreen?

jhammer569

Distinguished
Aug 21, 2008
I have 2 Dell 2001FP's (@ 1 old Dell CRT). I am going to replace the CRT in the middle with another Ultrasharp, the question is, do I get the 2007FP to match up with my existing 2001FP's, or do I get a widescreen version?

I trade for a living, so I need all 3 screens to line up horizontally by height with no distortions from 1 screen to the next.

The 2007FP regular Ultrasharp is $439 @ DEll, but the Widescreen is much cheaper. The stands are all height adjustable so I'm guessing the widescreen SHOULD be able to match height-wise (I keep them at the lowest levels).

I would think the widescreen should cost more, why doesn't it? Is widescreen worse in some fashion that I'm not aware of? Do things just get stretched out on widescreen so you are not in fact getting any additional benefit by the extra horizontal width?

I'm just looking to get more horizontal real estate out of the monitor, but if widescreen stretches & distorts things, I'll stick with the regular...

Once again, I trade for a living so I need everything to be 'normal' & 'height' identical across the 3 monitors.

Thanks

The 2007FP costs more than the UltraSharp 2208WFP 22-inch Widescreen (I assume that's what you are looking at) because of the panel technology.

The 2007FP uses either a S-PVA or IPS panel depending on the batch (both are the same price). IPS is the more "advanced" (and more expensive) panel tech, S-PVA is less expensive than IPS, but nearly as good.

Nearly all 22" LCD are built with the really inexpensive TN panel tech. TN panels are inferior to both S-PVA and IPS because they cannot produce true 16.7 million colors. TN panels can only produce 256k real colors and through a blending process (dithering) the remaining 16.0 - 16.5 million color can be created. S-PVA and IPS panels can truly produce 16.7 million colors.