rocket_sauce

Distinguished
Oct 1, 2004
My rig:
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ 90nm Winchester Socket 939 (w/AS5)
1GB (2x512) PC4000 DDR500 Ballistix Tracers Slots 1 & 3
K8N MSI Neo2 Platinum version 1
Gigabyte 3D Rocket cpu fan/heatsink
Aspire X-Navigator Case (5 case fans)
500w cpu (came with case)
All-in-wonder 9800Pro 128MB
SB Audigy 2 gamer edition
Windows XP Pro SP2

Ok my computer has been running "ok". I say ok because I do have the occasional mysterious crashes. Not doing anything specific to make it crash, it just crashes occasionally with different programs and sometimes not even touching it and me finding it not responding to anything. Sometimes I can play UT04 for hours and hours and I will not get a crash. So I get random crashes.

Here is what started the problems. I am brand new to overclocking and started to tweak around with my system a little bit. I increased the multiplier to 9X and increased the FSB to 205. I ran Prime95 for 3.5 hours and got no errors (I know 3.5 hours for Prime95 isn't long enough, but I dont have all the time in the world to wait for something like that to finish and besides I think my cpu and RAM could handle that little bit of OC'ing). Then I increased FSB to 210 and I stated to get ramdom crashes everytime I rebooted. Sometime Windows wouldn't boot and sometimes it would crash after windows booted up, but it was consistently crashing. Reduced FSB to 207 and everything was fine again. No crashes at all. I was puzzled by this because I built this computer with the intentions of OC'ing for gaming purposes. So, Iwas wondering about my RAM. I downloaded Memtest86 and started that. Computer crashed after 80% testing, no errors. Dropped FSB down to 205 and retested, crashed again at 72% of testing, so I just retested again at same FSB. Crashed again around 80% of testing, this time with errors (42 to be exact). Took my FSB back to factory settings at 200 FSB and left the multiplier at 5x. Retested again and crashed at around 40% of testing.