Status
Not open for further replies.

kooper

Distinguished
May 28, 2008
Hi everyone,

I have a 2nd floor room that gets really dusty. It seems no matter how much I dust (even with damp rags) I can't seem to control the large amount of dust in my room (which compounds daily). I have a lot of electronics in my room, and I don't have the ability to vacuum often, so perhaps that's the cause...

I was trying to find an air purifier to help remedy my dust issue so I could breathe better at night. Does anyone know if having a humidifier and a purifier running at the same time will cause an issues? Can anyone recommend purifiers for me that wouldn't use replaceable filters? Perhaps HEPA? I'm a bit of a newbie to this. Cost is not a big issue but I'm looking for a single room solution for the most part.

Thanks for any help and recommendations!

G

"I have a lot of electronics in my room, and I don't have the ability to vacuum often.........."

I should think that phrase applies to quite a lot of the people on this forum.

JamesCarlson

Distinguished
Sep 23, 2010
AustinAir makes good stuff. I got an IQAir HealthPro Plus for our bedroom and it has worked really well. I breathe a lot better (chronic allergies).

If dust is what you are looking to control, I would recommend getting something that is effective at filtering particles. A strong fan, good construction to minimize air leakage, and HEPA filters for allergens (HEPA-type would be find for just dust) is a good combination. Blue Air, IQAir, Austin Air all do a good job from what I have read.

If you want the lowdown on air purifiers and avoid bogus claims, here are the best resources I have found:

1 - Environmental Protection Agency: Guide to Residential Air Cleaners
2 - Air Purifier Guide: Clean Air Delivery Rate
3 - California EPA: Hazardous Ozone Air Purifiers
4 - Consumer Search: Air Purifier Recommendations (they just summarize what other people say but they seem to do a good job of it)