SATA INSTALL PROB ALSO!!

wizoforb

Distinguished
Apr 18, 2005
I'm a noob when it comes to sata. I have XP PRO SP2. I'm trying to just install XP on a single RAPTOR. All I get is a blure screen error. I have a via chipset. I've tried with F6, and without. Will a RTC clear, and start fresh help. It hasn't worked from the get go. Even when I found out you sometimes need a third party program driver for Windows to see the sata drive. The only luck I've got was the system seen it only on RAID CHANNEL 0. When it's on a regualr sata channel it doesn't see it at all. I have the option in the bios to set the RAID function to ide master or something. (it says to do this If your using a single drive). I'm really lost, and would like to know what I'm doing wrong, or if theres a problem with my system. I have latest bios drivers. The HD works for sure. I have formatted it. Ummm.....I used sandra to check for some stuff, and it shows that the drivers are their. So I assume when I boot the system from the INSTALL CD, and having only the SATA drive hooked up it would see it, but it doesn't. When is starts to say (WINDOWS IS NOW STARTING) it cuts to a blue screen. What's the deal!!??

ASUS A8V DELUXE K8T800 PRO
AMD ATHLON 64 +3200 (939)
(2)1 GB CORSAIR RAM PC3200 400 MHZ
BFG 6800 GEFORCE ULTRA OC (AGP)
(2) WD 74GB RAPTORS (SATA)
(1) WD 120GB (IDE)

pat

Expert
1-Do you know what BIOS is, how to get in and the purpose of it?

2- Do you have some knowledge about you board , like what kind of controller it has and what connector is connected to what controller?

3- Did you read your manual, to see where the connector that come from the chipset controller are and those, if available, coming from the third party controller are?

4- Do you know the difference between native controller and onboard controller?