Sign in with
Your question

Leadtek A400 GT Problems

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
May 7, 2005 3:52:52 AM

Hi all. First post here. Wondering if you fine folks can come up with any ideas for the problem I'm having.

First: System Specs
AMD 64 3200+
2x512MB DDR3200 system memory
ASUS K8VSE Deluxe mobo, 8xAGP@1.5V, VIA chipset, 800mhz FSB
--bios is the second to newest. Latest bios adds new CPU support.
350W power supply
200GB SATA HD

Next: The problem
I picked up one of the excellent Leadtek A400 GT cards based around the Nvidia GeForce 6800 GT chipset. Plugged it in. Card ran perfect for one day. Opened the case, closed the case (I swear I did nothing else while it was open, and I'm an IT professional so I think I know what I'm doing) now the card won't work right.
What I am seeing is white "snow" in the display at the most basic VGA level. During power up, in the bios screen, you name it. Windows graphics fails utterly unless I boot in safe mode. So, the raw graphic display is not working right.

Finally: Here is what I've done to resolve the problem.
1. I took the graphics card out and tried it in another machine. Same problem. ASUS mobo, Sempron 2400+, 512MB DDR 3200.
2. Plugged in my old AGP card (Radeon 9800 128MB) and everything was fine.
3. Took it to a local Hardware guy I know who determined the card was bad.
4. Shipped the card back to Newegg.com and (very quickly) received a replacement card. Plugged it in - same problem. Aaarrgghh.
5. Called Leadtek tech support and left a message. Received a reply to (a) try the card in another machine and (b) ensure the video card is the only item connected to the power supply from that connector. Having already done 'a' I tried 'b'. I swear it was better for a second, but no, still bad.
6. Bought a brand new 450W power supply and ran the dedicated VGA power supply cord to the GT card. Same problem.