Upgraded RAM & Virtual Memory Issues

Francophone

Distinguished
Jun 11, 2005
I upgraded the RAM in my computer from 512MB to 1024. I spoke w/the manufacturer help desk and they never mentioned "virtual memory". I increased the virtual memory, but my system is still sluggish and I will occasionally get "virtual memory running low messages".

In addition to virtual memory adjustment, are there any other changes to my computer I need to make after having installed the extra RAM?

No gaming or video editing, I am a student and do a lot of research, will usually have several applications such as Nexis open at once.

Dell Dimension
Windows XP Home
2.4 ghz

bum_jcrules

Distinguished
May 12, 2001
How many applications are running in the background and how many do you normally have open?

Also, how much free space is there on your hard drive?

:)

Got a LAN Party that you want people to know about?

Let me know about it. :smile:

Hatphones

Distinguished
Jun 8, 2005
it might be a problem with one of apps you are running, but you should still make sure , in your bios and under sys info, that the full 1024 is being used, and if you are running a dual channel chipset, be sure they are in the correct slots and set to utilize dual channel. with 1gb you shouldn't ever Really need more than 1GB of virtual memory. ever. but as wusy said, it could be a coding problem within one of your programs *cough* opera *cough*.

There is no patch for human stupidity

G

here's something intersting
Fix a memory leak in Firefox 1.0
Firefox is supposed to dynamically release memory from its RAM cache to other Windows applications as needed. Unfortunately, Firefox 1.0 seems to consume more memory than it should, which hurts performance, when set to the default of 51200 KB (51 MB).