Bob825

Distinguished
May 19, 2010
I am a newbie here. I have been reading, looking for information about upgrading a video card in a Dell XPS 8100. I haven't found a thread that exactly answers my questions.
The XPS 8100 is sold with optional video cards that require a 6-pin connector, yet the 350 W Chicony power supply (DP/N K159T) that I have in my recently purchased XPS 8100 appears to have no 6-pin PCIe connectors, nor even any free 4-pin Molex connectors to be used with an adapter to create a 6-pin connector. So, does Dell use a different 350 W power supply if one opts for a video card that requres a 6-pin connector?
There appears to be no diagram of the supply wires of the Chicony PSU in the Dell Manuals for the XPS 8100. Am I missing these connectors? Are they inside the PSU box? With the supply wire bundles, I see only 2 unused SATA connectos and a small white P7 connector which I take to be for a floppy. These can't be used to create a 6-pin, right?
If I upgrade the PSU then I void the warranty, right?

thunderclash

Distinguished
May 2, 2010
Haha, same problem here. Well, the difference is that I didn't buy the studio xps 8100, just because of it's puny power supply.

I'm in India, and here dell is selling it with a GTX260 at the most.. and how do they accomodate a GTX260 with a 350W power supply you may ask... they underclock it.

I'm pretty sure that the gtx260 uses 6 pin power connectors, but the gt220(the cheapest card you can get with the 8100) doesn't use any external power.. so they may or may not have 6 pin connectors with the PSU.

I had the same issue, and was thinking about getting a 8100 and then changing my power supply and getting a 5850 or similar card.. but well, if you do that, then your warranty gets void(oddly enough, one of the main reasons I was buying a branded computer)

With which graphic card did you order the dell?

Bob825

Distinguished
May 19, 2010