Worth adding more RAM?

Kilgore

Distinguished
Feb 4, 2005
I am a newbie here, so bear with me if this is a newbie question! I have some extra money to spend on upgrading my brand new computer. That's right - it hasn't even been delivered yet, but I have a credit to use, so I am trying to decide how best to improve the system overall. Since I obviously won't be changing the CPU and I am satisfied with my graphics card, I thought increasing the ram was a no-brainer. But since I was trying to determine if it is worth it to add more to 1 gig of ram for gaming purposes, I came here. I had always thought that you couldn't go wrong with adding more ram, but then I read a post here where it was suggested that adding more can actually slow down the computer. Will that be true in my case - I want to increase from 1GB to 2GB. The computer is running a Pentium D 3.0 ghz processor. So, is it worth spending the money? Also, the memory I am thinking of adding will be exactly the same as the memory already in there, so there shouldn't be any decompensation issues (or whatever you call them). Thanks in advance for your help!

RichPLS

Champion
1-gig RAM is the sweet spot for gaming. Wait and see how it performs, you should be satified.

<pre><font color=red>°¤o,¸¸¸,o¤°`°¤o \\// o¤°`°¤o,¸¸¸,o¤°
And the sign says "You got to have a membership card to get inside" Huh
So I got me a pen and paper And I made up my own little sign</pre><p></font color=red>

G

Hehe nicely put!

Asus P4P800DX, P4C 2.6ghz@3.25ghz, 2X512 OCZ PC4000 3-4-4-8, MSI 6800Ultra stock, 2X30gig Raid0

RichPLS

Champion
I am pretty sure most games do not get much if any at all improvement with 2gigs verses 1gig of ram.

So I got me a pen and paper And I made up my own little sign</pre><p></font color=red>

G

Or a hooker...now thats money wisely spent!

Asus P4P800DX, P4C 2.6ghz@3.25ghz, 2X512 OCZ PC4000 3-4-4-8, MSI 6800Ultra stock, 2X30gig Raid0

Kilgore

Distinguished
Feb 4, 2005