mosquitooth

Distinguished
May 11, 2008
Hi everyone,

I'm quite new to workstations (actually this would be the first one I buy), so please excuse trivial questions:

I'm thinking about buying a DELL Precision T7400 (Intel 5400) workstation....but I do have some questions before :

- Is it possible to use a mainstream graphics card (like nvidia 9800GX2) in this workstation? Could I get such a configuration directly from DELL or do I need to exchange the cards myself?

- Is it possible to add a second CPU afterwards? Or does the first CPU need to be special in a way to support this?

- I'm quite impressed by the DELL XPS line: quality of assembling and noise reduction seem to be just fine. Is this the same with the Precision workstations? Does anyone have some experience with this?

- General questions: Is it possible to extend this system with the usual standard components (like add HD, NICs,...)? Could I ran into any problems?

- Are there any limitations to the XPS line? Is the performance comparable?

Best wishes,

Peter

sweetpants

Distinguished
Jul 5, 2006

Absolutely you can put that in. The motherboard does support PCI-e x16 slots. Though you may want to check support.dell.com and search for system type to see if it does support PCI-E 2.0.

If you wish to add a second CPU, your best bet is to buy it from Dell because there will be a VRM (Voltage Regulator Module). The VRM controls voltage going to the second socket, so if that's not in place and you add a second CPU, you will not see it at all.

I know that some people have complained about the fan noises. I know it's a monster of a machine, and keeping it in an enclosed space is the worst thing you can do for it. However I wouldn't say they are built to be super quiet.

You can add your own parts, though, that won't be covered under any warranty. If you throw some funky configuration in other than what Dell sends you, their tech's can do their best to help, but are sometimes limited.