Sign in with
Your question

RAID 0 Setup Questions

Tags:
  • Hard Drives
  • Storage
Last response: in Storage
August 21, 2005 10:55:01 PM

Alright im new to the forums but ive been visiting the site for a few years now...soooo whats up!?!? .....and yes i do like long walks on the beach if anybody wants one...or to go on one... :redface: "OOOHHHHH STOP IT!"
Anywho's the grand-rents have it set in their minds that they want the <b>ULTIMATE MEDIA DEKSTOP PC!!!</b> ....which my grandfather just almost exploded cus i told him to get rid of the FX 5200 POS and put in a 5700......but hey im all excited. Alright here are the specs:

Pentium 4 3.0 GHZ 800Mhz FSB, 2X 1GB Corsair PC3200, Gigabyte GA81PE1000 ProG Mobo, MSI nVidia 5700.....non pro...., Creative Labs Audigy 2 ZS, 3 Western Digital 120 GB HD's, Lite-On DVD ROM, Lite-On CD-RW, Lite-On DVD-RW. They also got 1 floppy and 1 zip drive. And i think the PSU is a Antec 400 Watt....isnt that a little underpowered?
Oh and yes my 70 year old grand-rents can build computers...they just like doing it on the carpet for some reason and they dont believe in static electricity...thats why they're RMA'ing 2 GB of Corsair right now.

Now i dont know why they wanted RAID but they do so i asked them if they wanted the speed or the reliability...they want the speed, who doesnt.... Windows XP is already installed so thats probably gonna be an issue with PROMISE (SATA 150TX2PLUS PCI) thats the card they gave me. Im thinking about plugging 2 of the 120 GB's into it and setting up Striping on them. They also want the DVD burner hooked up to it but i dont know or think if thats even possible. As usual the manual says plug everything in and boot with new jumper settings, its even worse than a motherboard manual.