Need Help Finding Gaming/Media Notebook

Status
Not open for further replies.

Hikaru-chan

Distinguished
Nov 17, 2009
Hey all.

I’m a college student in the market for a new notebook sometime in the next 6-10 months or so, and I’m already getting frustrated in my search. I do video editing and subtitling as a hobby, so that’s going to be this computer’s main function outside the classroom. Also, while I’m not a hardcore gamer with a need for a machine that can max out a game’s specs, I do want something that can put in a respectable performance on whatever game I feel like picking up and killing time with. At current I have a three and a half year old Dell Inspiron E1405 that can’t even load Battle for Middle Earth II. (Extremely sad, considering the game isn’t all that much younger than the computer.) I live on the east coast, go to college in Hawaii, and I’ll be attending a study abroad program next year in Japan. Having to do as much traveling as I do I don’t get the luxury of having a powerful desktop at home and then a more portable notebook or netbook for being on the go. This computer is going to be my main (and probably only) machine.

So here’s my “Wish List":

Hard Drive: MINIMUM 1TB split between two 7200RPM HDDs (Trust me, the space is necessary. So is the RPM speed.)

Processor: at least 2GHz, preferred 3.0GHz (preferred i7 processor). I’m not an expert on CPUs so if anyone into video and media editing has any suggestions for which one to get please send them.

Memory: 4GB MIN., 6 or 8GB preferred.

OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit (or XP Pro) with Windows Small Business/Student edition

Battery: Not looking for a miracle here. I know that for the performance I’m looking for, the amount of time I’ll be spending unplugged isn’t going to be long, but if anyone knows of a computer with something greater than an hour long battery life without me having to shell out $100+ extra for a better battery, I’d be grateful.