Courier vs. Optima

G

Hello All!
Yes, I am a newbie here, but I do have a question that really makes me wonder. Since I am in the market for getting an external modem (where I am stationed, it's nearly hopeless for broadband, and really I am not that interested in it, and I do prefer external model diagnostic LED's) I really do want a Corporate class modem (Probably think I am crazy for wanting to spend out a lot of money for just an analog modem)
And the only two currently right now, are the USR Courier 56k Lines and Hayes/Zoom Optima 56k lines of business modems.
Now seeing that in the current Comdex article, USR might be in the works for the V.92 firmware upgrade for their Courier V.Everything modem. But I do like the Optima a little more and would rather purchase that. But if USR is planning this out, I would rather go for the Courier. If neither company doesn't follow through, I would greatly appreciate any feedback on which modem you think is better.
When you look at the Optima, they state the higher throughput rate (even though the serial port couldn't support this much) and of course the long standing Hayes name, AutoSync, etc etc.
But on the USR side, there is the possible v.92 upgrade and the V.Everything/V.Everywhere technology plus better connectivity through poor lines conditions etc. etc.

With that. It would be great to hear some opinions! Thanks

Mario

"There are no problems....only solutions!"
Kevin Flynn - Walt Disney's Tron

cpujunky

Distinguished
Dec 31, 2007