Sign in with
Your question

Want to build a PC

Last response: in CPUs
December 25, 2002 4:24:50 PM

After reading this board for a while, I am pumped to build my own PC (have Dell PC now and was going to buy another of those before reading this board). Since I am a novice at doing so, I need some help. My budget is about $2000 (including a flat panel monitor of at least 18" size), but will spend more if needed.

Firstly, are there any technologies coming in 1st quarter of 2003 that I should wait for? Any chipsets, motherboards, higher speed RAM, hard drives, ports, etc. that will make my PC obselete quickly if I don't wait for them?

I read a little about the Gigabyte motherboard that many are clamouring for. What is the deal with that one?

My needs aren't too intensive. I will use this PC to telecommute using a cable modem, surf the net and do some video editing of camcorder footage. I may even want to use this as backup TV when my wife needs to hog the TV for something I don't want to watch. When I say backup TV, I mean using it for Cable & Satellite TV and watching DVDs. All opinions are appreciated. Thanks.

More about : build

a c 159 à CPUs
December 25, 2002 5:42:00 PM

If you're in no hurry, I would wait for the Intel springdale chipset boards that support 800 megahurtz p4's (200 fsb quad pumped), or you may prefer the amd opterons, the desktop version of the amd 64 server cpus. Right now the Intel granite bay boards are starting to appear, but they're very pricey ($215-300+) and the performance has been a little disappointing. The opteron may not appear until the 2nd quarter. I'm waiting for sis 655 (similar to granite bay) to see how the price/performance compares. They should be available in a month or so.
December 25, 2002 6:02:24 PM