Dangers of Silver Thermal Paste

Nick_Grosswendt

Distinguished
Jan 5, 2003
Dear Fredi & THG Community,

Having used Tom's as my primary computer source since the mid '90's, this is my first attempt to contact, comment or post at THG.

I was horrified to see the gobs of thermal grease used in the Prometeia article.

Recently I was given an dead AMD 1400 that had all the surface resistors and jumpers shorted out with Artec Silver. It was smeared over the entire upper face of the chip.

Only 5 minutes work gave me a FREE (at the time) $90 CPU.

First I used Go-Gone on a toothbrush to get into the crevices, followed by rubbing alcohol on the toothbrush. I then used the same solvents on Q-Tips, and finally wiped with dry Q-Tips.

Using a toothpick is the best way that I have found to apply the minute amount of thermal paste needed.

Clean Computing!
C. N. "Nick" Grosswendt

Stiffler

Distinguished
Nov 3, 2001
Yeah that is an excellent point that is often overlooked by first time HSF fitters using silver based mediums. And it is not just the CPU that stands to be affected this stuff shouldn't go near the motherboard or any other electronic component...

I remember the first time I applied thermal compound I got it everywhere :/ I was careless due to rushing, although I carefully cleaned up after my self and nothing was damaged ! And a final point is that if its a PIV there is no need to panic :p you can get it everywhere :eek:) (as long as it stays ontop)

Tim

ps: If its a silica based compound it shouldn't cause any damage... still it doesn't mean you should get it everywhere !

<font color=blue>Its winter now... So how come my CPU temp is still </font color=blue><b><font color=red>55C</font color=red></b>

Black_Cat

Distinguished
Jan 11, 2002
The following link shows the most detailed instructions that I know of for applying thermal compound. All newbies, and even some not-so-newbies, should read this arcticle carefully. Print it out even!