Aavin

Distinguished
Jan 13, 2003
Hi Everyone,

After finally deciding it is time to get a new computer, I am tired of dealing with the likes of Dell. So, I started reading the how to information on Tom's and have read alot of the postings on the CPU forum. I wanted to get some opinions on a setup that may work,and since I am a newbie to this, please excuse if I don't use the correct terminology.

First, this will be a home computer, but I may use it for work as well (accounting systems running off of SQL Server).

This is what I have so far:

Case: Cooler Master TC-220B-AX1
PSU: Enrmax EG465P-VE(FC) 431W Power supply fo AMD K7
Mobo: ASUS A7V8X
Processor: AMD Athlon XP 2400/266 FSB (Retail Box)
CD/DVD (RW drive): Lite On 52x24x52 (on sale item)
HardDives: WD 80 GB (3 of these)
Memory:Kingston 512MB 32x64PC2700 DDR Ram

Also, wanted to check if I am missing anything? I think I need 3 ATA cables, I put in the 10 inch ones.

Does anyone see anything I am missing, or any compatability/ stability issues?

Also, I was going to order online at newegg.com, since I went to Fry's and the prices on most items were higher. Anyone have any experience with newegg?

Thanks for all your help!

Aavin

ad_rach

Distinguished
Nov 16, 2002
go for asus a7N8x rather than the a7v8x coz the nforce 2 chipset is much more stable and better performing than the via kt 400.If you get this mobo you should get two sticks of 256mb RAM to take advantage of dual channel memory.Might wanna get some better RAM than kingston-corsair if you can afford it.
Never used newegg myself coz i am in uk but everyone on here seems to get there stuff there.

no matter how hard you try, you can't polish a turd. :]

RCPilot

Champion
If you do a search you'll see the A7N8X has bad BIOS problem right now especially with dual channel RAM. His choice is better.

Signature, I'm still learning & having fun doing it!!!!!!

ad_rach

Distinguished
Nov 16, 2002