Sign in with
Your question

Please, please tell me that I did it Right!!

Tags:
Last response: in CPUs
February 4, 2003 9:28:31 PM

Hi all,

I've recently bought a new case (Lian Li PC6099) which ment that I had to transfer all my components from one case to another, so i though that while I was at it i'd also upgrade my Heat sink for the CPU from the standard HSF that comes with a P4 2GHz to a Thermaltake P4 SPARK 7 cooler.

I also purchased some Arctic Silver 3, as i'm lead to believe that, that is the best stuff to use.

(NOTE: I have never done this before in my life)

I managed everything alright but when it came to applying the Thermal Compound I got a bit stuck, everywhere that I read about applying this stuff said to put a tiny amount on the die (core) for the CPU and then smooth it out nicely over the top, like Icing on a cake.

Now, first of all, all the tutorials that i read were using an AMD or and older CPU where the die (core) was easily found as a small "square" in the middle of the chip that was usually slightly raised (or lower or level, but in any case it is visually easy to find, see this tutorial for example: http://www.arcticsilver.com/arctic_silver_instructions....).

But with my P4 CPU all it is ,is a flat metal chip, no raised bits, no litle squares, nothing easily identifiable as a die (core) to put my Thermal Compound onto. eg. of my chip: http://www6.tomshardware.com/cpu/20020402/
(unless that little shiny square was it down in the bottom left hand corner of the chip, though I can't believe that tiny little thing is all I put my Thermal paste onto??)

So, was it right for me to just put a thin layer of Arctic Silver over the WHOLE silver part of the CPU (basically over the whole chip)?

I don't know if I've done it right, so if anyone could direct me to a detailed, even visual tutorial of applying Thermal Compound to a Pentium 4 chip like mine, so that I could double check I'd much appreciate it.