Dec 28, 2001
Here's my PC setup:

Soyo K7V Dragon Plus
Athlon XP 1700+ (Palomino core)
256MB PC2100 Mushkin Basic memory
425W PSU
60GB ATA/100 WesternDigital HardDrive
Windows XP Pro

I just unlocked the processor using crazy glue to fill in the gaps and then rear-window defogger repair paint to connect the L1 bridges.

I tried under-clocking to 133x10.5, but it goes to 133x10.
It works fine at 133x11.
I tried to over-clock to 133x11.5, but goes to 133x11.
I tried to overclock to 133x12, during bootup I get an error message telling me that some kernel file or something is missing or cant be found.

I even cleaned the paint from the bridges and unlocked it again, but still the same problem.

What could it be? The BIOS? Did I unlock it incorrectly?
What the heck happened?

This is my first time unlocking my CPU and its a nightmare, (well not really because I didnt fry it or something.)

Please help me unlock my Athlon XP 1700+ Palomino CPU correctly.

Thanks in advance.

Signature X__________________________ <-- Sign here please.

Grub

Distinguished
Aug 30, 2002
I would suggest downloading the newest bios from soyo. I have a system setup similar to yours:
1700 Palomino
40 GB WD HD
256 Corsair XMS PC2400
Antec Trueblue 480 watt PS
Soyo Dragon MOBO
Volcano 7 heatsink

When I unlocked mine I got some strange results from the multiplier as well. Some of the multipliers (particularly the ones after 12.5) were not as high as they said they were. For example at 150 fsb x13 only gave me 1875 mhz. BTW what kind of PS are you using?

Let's all settle our political differences with a LAN.

jaimegmr

Distinguished
Dec 28, 2001
I havent tried the newest BIOS, but I tried the kvxa2ba5 BIOS and the multipliers only went up to 12.0X instead of 14.0X. Why? I read somewhere that kvxa2ba6, the new BIOS, also has a max of 12.0X. is this true? If that is the case, why did they lower the multipliers.