Sign in with
Your question

best and quietest heatsink for 2800xp...please ?

Last response: in CPUs
February 11, 2003 6:49:44 PM

i just put together a new system with a A7N8X mobo, 2800xp
3 sticks of corsair 3200pc 512 each, 2 80 giga drive 8mb from maxtor and a zalman 6000 flower....everything it's working beautiful but, the cpu temp is a 75c with full load....i believe its too much !!!
wich one would be the best cooler for my system ?
i forgot....my psu is a enermax 450 watts...and i have a new Matrox parhelia video card...
thanx in advance for the suggestions...
February 11, 2003 7:23:16 PM

Wow, I just built almost the same system:

AMD Athlon XP 2700+
ASUS A7N8X Deluxe
512MB PC3200 Corsair XMS
80GB 7200RPM Western Digital (8MB cache)

Using the stock HSF, my CPU is about 50-50C and gets up to about 57C under stress and I thought mine was too hot. You must be freaking out at 75C! Well, I'm by no means a cooling expert, all I can do is point you to this article if you haven't already read it. Although I think as far as heatsink-fans go, best AND quietest is somewhat of an oxymoron :) 

http://www17.tomshardware.com/cpu/20030113/index.html
February 12, 2003 2:12:19 AM

some a7n8x's have faulty temperture sensors on them. Mine constantly reads about 80C in bios. Install asus probe that came with your driver cd and see what that says.
Related resources
February 12, 2003 3:01:18 AM

Wellcome to the crazy would of CPU temp monitoring. Some pearls of wizdom you should understand.

A. The temp you read on the screen is generated by an UNCALIBRATED sensor read by an UNCALIBRATED motherboard by a variable program. Thus it can vary wildly.
B. 30 to 60C is the "average" what people get, though occasionaly its higher... my CPU for example runs at full load at 70 to 75C indicated, and has been as high as 86C. The REAL temp is much lower.

Do the following foolproof check while the system is running or just after shutdown.