Sign in with
Your question

It is about time x86 was allowed to die

Last response: in CPUs
February 23, 2003 6:08:43 PM

I shall first set the scene:

I am currently an Electronics Engineering Student at Southampton University. I am currently in my second year and I am currently doing a computer architecture course in which we are "designing on paper" a MIPS RISC Processor.

Anyway, yes......We had a rather in depth discussion about the x86 instruction set and the lecturer explained his point and it all makes lots of sense. Intel and AMD still support the x86 insturction set, the curious thing about this is that the x86 set is difficult to design for, especially when you are designing new proccessors with more insturctions in them when most users will only use 10% of the instructions in the set at any one time. It comes from the fact these processors still include very old instructions that are no longer used, just to be "backwards compatable".

Now if you bear with me, I may not explain what I have said or what I am about to say well, so allow me to reply to any other replies later to clarify this.....

The lecturer continued to explain: