smax1

Distinguished
Mar 7, 2003
Hi there newbie here just wondering whether going 4 a 533 2.4 pentium with the 850e, 1066 rambus road is worth it or is only 2.4 not going to benifit high rambus/motherboard prices considering the ongoing market......

thanx smax.

knewt

Distinguished
Oct 6, 2002
Rambus is definately the way to go to get the most out of your P4. I was lucky enough to get my hands on an unlocked 2.4GHz P4 400FSB (running at 2.6GHz) and set it up with pc800 rambus in an Intel mobo (very stable). I am extreamly happy with the performance so far.

You will not likely see a noticable improvement in performance going to pc1066 unless you plan to OC.

Listen to me now and forget me tomorrow

Crashman

Polypheme
Former Staff
I see knewt must have missed the part about your P4 being a 533 bus CPU. Generally speaking PC1066 is a great match for the "533" bus P4, and has top notch performance.

<font color=blue>Watts mean squat if you don't have quality!</font color=blue>

gal128

Distinguished
May 14, 2002
That setup you described is the one I am running currently for games and music and other random crap and it smokes. I upgrade my pc800 to 1066 and there is a noticeable differnce in a few apps. This leads me to believe that moving to the pc1200 is actually a viable option for me. (If it ever comes out.)

HULK SMASH!!!

smax1

Distinguished
Mar 7, 2003
Thanx guys for replies, stability is the factor here, as I,m doing audio/visual stuff I,m hoping that rambus, or I,m told is still the best cookie in this department. I,m told intel doesent yet recognize 1066 rambus speeds but it might in the future etc...., does that mean that if you get ya hands on a current 850e board 1066/1200 isent a benifit bandwidth wise......or it wont make visable difference...