Sign in with
Your question

AMD XP2400+

Tags:
Last response: in CPUs
March 7, 2003 5:41:32 AM

Has anyone overclocked the XP2400+? Where do you start/how do you do it safely? I'm a rookie and finding it really difficult to find the information.
p.s my MB is Gigabyte GA7VA which has an unstable software overclocking utility. I'd like ot know how to make the change in hardware bios.

Thanks and all the best.

Naif...

More about : amd xp2400

March 7, 2003 10:19:15 PM

I got an Asus A7N8X motherboard, so I can't help much with the motherboard issue. As for overclocking, I did some on my Duron. Go into the BIOS and go to the Front Side Bus. Slowly increase the FSB until the CPU becomes unstable. Increase by 2 or 3 MHz. Also, check your CPU temperatures. You don't want your CPU over 60 C. I personnaly prefer under 45 C. Under full load, I run at 40 C. Make sure you got a good heatsink if you plan on overclocking.
March 8, 2003 9:54:16 AM

Hi ,thanks for the good info - I was able to overclock to xp2600 with ease and no stability problems. The core temp is a healthy 40c but, I will upgrade cooler anyhow. I have another question though:
When I up the voltage even slightly, the computer runs fine but, won't restart when I do a shutdown/restart from windows XP. Instead it shuts down as normal and then powers the monitor down whilst leaving the computer hung (with both drives lit up).

Any ideas? Even if I don't overclock fsb and simply increase the voltage slightly I still get the same problem?
Related resources
March 9, 2003 3:22:10 AM

What kind of power supply are you using?
March 9, 2003 7:06:36 AM

I believe its an enermax 350watt (365ep?). I was wondering about the juice - my computer is really loud when I first switch it on (it alsmost sounds like the fan is rising+dropping rpm for the first 5 mins). All started since I added a DVD burner.

Now the 350 watt is powering a CD RW,DVD RW,Radeon 9700 pro,Net card,2xHDD's,1xFDD,2xfans.