Sign in with
Your question

Quasi-newbie mobo/CPU/RAM Questions

Tags:
Last response: in CPUs
March 13, 2003 7:58:33 PM

Hello, newbie here I'm looking to upgrade my current P3 700mhz machine. This will be my first upgrade, but I did read a number of articles on this lovely website to try to get some good background info, but I still have some unanswered questions. On with the psuedo-newbie questions:

I'm considering buying a ASUS nforce2 SSP MCP mobo #A7N8X and a processor around a 2200+ AMD. The questions that I can think of right now are would this require a new powersupply (you probably can't answer this without more info, but can you tell me what specs to consider in finding out if I need to plop down money for that)

Second, I don't quite grasp the idea of Asynchronus memory. I understand that the memory mhz should match the fsb mhz or it's wasteful. What I don't know is which specification is the memory mhz. If i get DDR400 (PC 3200) should the fsb match the 400 mhz (double rate) or the 200 mhz (single rate)?

I was probably going to go with crucial memory, but I most likely won't be overclocking, so if kingston is just as good when not overclocking, for the price I'll go with that, any suggestions?

How good is the onboard sound on the ASUS nforce2 mobo with the MCP, not the MCP-T? I will most likely be using it at least as a temporary sound solution, so what are you're experiences with that? I've got 4.1 speakers (no center)

Thanks in advance, I'm sure I'll have more questions in the future.

NyQ
March 13, 2003 8:52:28 PM