unknown cpu type

RSTYLES

Distinguished
Mar 21, 2003
I bought an Athlon 2100+ from newegg, and it turned out to be a T'bred B, but the cpu name string is "Unknown cpu type".

Does anybody know aything about this. Why? This string is displayed by several utilitys, including AMD's cpuid, and Wcpu.

Also, it defaults to a multiplier of 20, but will (thankfully) accept 15 as well. It seems to run well at (actual) 1800 (120FSB) and 2000 (133FSB).

I thought that the 2100+ had a multiplier of 13.

What gives. I have no plans to take the cooler off to look at the OPN, as I am not very good at putting those things on.

Does the bios (ak31v3, current (ak31sei) version) have anything to do with the flawed multiplier?

TKH

Distinguished
Nov 11, 2002
you have to tell us what mobo you are using coz this may be your mobo or bios can't support your new cpu.

My PC has gone to hell... because it's a killing machine...

RSTYLES

Distinguished
Mar 21, 2003
I thought that I did. An AK31v3, with the current (I) revision.
I suspect that it might not support the 2100+, but it does run, albiet with an excessively high multiplier.
As I said, WCPU says "unknown cpu type", it runs with a multiplier of 15 and 20 (FSB at 100 for 20), voltage 1.60, and seems okay. The only trouble I had was a BSOD on cold start once, with multiplier at 15 and 133 bus (2000 actual).

Since I am not overly interested in OC, I am currently running at 120FSB (1800 actual, default core voltage).

I also have an icebox cooler, for the noise reduction. Works good, so long as you never move the darn thing. Once you get the airflow worked out, handles this heat load okay.

skligmund

Distinguished
Jan 24, 2002
What he is talking about is what motherboard, not bios, do you have.