Is Dual Processor Worth it?

Smee32

Distinguished
Apr 10, 2003
In reviews on this site, as well as others, they often show that dual processor systems do not add considerable speed, with the exception of certain optimized programs. However, I am under the impression that where multi-processor really shines is in multi-tasking, which most reviews i have found seem to gloss over.
I am a college student, and most of the time I have my email, AIM, several IE windows, an MP3 player and an word doc. open. However, i am also a gamer, so performance here is important as well.

Which would you guys recommend? Dual 2600 MP's with the old 760MPX chipset, or a 2800 XP with nforce2 / 3.06 P4 (kind of halfway to dual) with canterwood/springdale?

Common to all configs is a Radeon 9700/9800, premo sound, etc.

Thanks for you help!
ps hope this isnt too old hat...

you would not benefit at al lfrom dual processing. You barely touch the processing power of a 2ghz pentium4.

The only people who benefit from dual processing are people that do intense video editing and encoding, 3d animation and modeling, and running a server using windows 2000 server.

For you a pentium 4 2ghz or an amd 2000+ with 512MB of RAM and your gaming hardware would be sufficient. Anything more is up to you but dual processing will actually degrade your performance because you don't do anything that would even remotely be used that is optimized for dual processing.

You don't do anything with your computer to warrant dual processing.

As far as performance, the only thing you need as a gamer is a decent screen, very good video card, and decent cpu speed. a 2.4ghz 533fsb would be more then you need.

to answer your question, no it isn't worth it for you for what you do.

Life is irrelivent and irrational.

<A HREF="http://www.anandtech.com/mysystemrig.html?id=9933" target="_new"> My Rig </A>

peteb

Distinguished
Feb 14, 2001