xp xcopy /d copies all after a clock set

G

Archived from groups: microsoft.public.windowsxp.general (More info?)

I use a batch file containing a few XCOPY /D lines to copy between
networked computers, to backup a few directories containing many files.
The /D says "dont copy unless the file has a newer date/time stamp".
Normally this works great, and just copies the few newer files.

However if the destination computer has just set the clock time, then
the /D is not honored, and every file is copied regardless of date/time
(it is not about a few minutes, it is ALL files, going back months and
years). I'm not sure how long this effect lasts, next boot or next day,
but in a day or two, then it works fine again.

Is this a known situation? Any fix for it?

XP SP2 + all the current patches.
Both are Asus AMD motherboards.

stivk

Distinguished
Nov 17, 2008
Dear Anonymous,

I have had a similar but not identical experience. I studied and researched and pondered, and eventually stumbled across program called AttributeMagic which shows the date/time modified attribute of files to hh:mm:ss rather than just hh:mm as is the case in Windows Explorer.

I found that after XCOPY had finished the time stamp of the target file had advanced (by 2 seconds in my case) from that of the source file from which it was copied.

I cant imagine why the second amount is different, but it is consistent, and I wonder if in your case the time on the target file has retreated by a quantum (thank you James Bond). This would cause every subsequent execution of XCOPY to think that the source needed to be backed again (and again).

This is all speculation and I recommend you find yourself a way to display the time last modified time down to the second to confirm or dispel my theory.

If this is true, I don't know what the fix is. :(

Kind regards,
Steve.

stivk

Distinguished
Nov 17, 2008