Sign in with
Your question

Yet another "New System Advice" request

Last response: in CPUs
April 17, 2003 6:34:31 AM

Hello,

I've been scanning the boards on a regular basis for a few months now in anticipation of building my system. As the time draws near, A whole slew of questions has arisen, and I'd appreciate any definitive input you could give me. First though - my anticipated system specs:

Processor: Athlon XP 2400+
Mobo: Epox 8RDA+
RAM: 512 mb PC2700LL Corsair TwinX modules (will switch to 3200 if I can get FSB to 200)
HD: 2x 80GB 8mb cache WD drives in RAID 0
Power Sup: Fortron 350W
HSF: Thermalright SLK 800U
Video: Radeon 9700 Pro eventually, carrying over 32mb TNT2 Ultra until further funding
RAID card: ?

As you might have guessed, I'm looking for the most bang for my buck (with the exception of the memory, but I don't want to cheap out and lose overclocking potential). Now, on to my questions:

Power Supply - I really haven't seen too many recommendations for this Fortron unit, other than the original one in the THG power supply roundup/rant. It's definitely more bargain oriented than some of the bigger brand names (Antec truepower, etc.), and the article seemed to indicate that it was happily giving more juice than the 350 watts advertised. Any suggestions?

Processor - This has been a _major_ sticking point for me, especially now that the 2500 Bartons are in my price range (~$130 and below). Is it better to just have _everything_ running in synch at 333 (proc, fsb, & ram), or would it be better to get the 2400 and overclock modestly, but not have the processor in synch with the FSB and RAM (I know to have FSB and RAM in synch)?